-Round One,  "The Quarter-Finals"           -Round Three, "The Finals"       
Time limit: 7 minutes                                             Time limit: 15 minutes

-Round Two, "The Semi-Finals"                  All music must be performed from memory.
Time limit: 10 minutes

When I was a young student of the classical guitar, I found I often simply couldn't afford the things or activities which were necessary to move my studies and early career forward.  I could not afford lessons or master classes with world class artists, travel to major guitar events, or a new instrument.  Now, it is my great pleasure to give back in the form of this performance competition, to help today's young artists reach their goals.

This competition/scholarship was inaugurated in 2004 as a University of Akron-only event. It has gradually evolved into the state-wide competition it is today. In partnership with Stephen Aron, University of Akron Guitar Professor (retired) and current Oberlin Conservatory Guitar Instructor, we have created a terrific weekend that celebrates the highest performance values while significantly helping students excel each year.



Anyone who is currently enrolled in an Ohio college, conservatory, university or high school is eligible to compete in this competition. Proof of residence  may be required at registration.


There is a minimum of two pieces required each round. Editing and excerpting is only allowed in the first round to meet the 7 minute time limit. One piece per round must be written before 1910. Pieces may be repeated from round to round.


$3000- First Place

$2000- Second Place

$1000- Third Place

$500- Fourth Place

NEW! Now announcing our

Audience Prize of an ADDITIONAL $1000.!!

About the Competition

The 2017 Festival will take place at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. The Finals will take place in Kulas Recital Hall. This small room features excellent sight-lines and lighting and perfect acoustics for the guitar. The preliminary rounds will take place in the new, gorgeously appointed Stull Recital Hall.


Friday, March 9th 

Eugenia Moliner, flute and Denis Azibagic, guitar (Cavatina Duo)

Concert begins at 8:00 


Saturday, March 10th


        - 9:30a - Quarter-Finals

           (Stull Recital Hall; this is the only event     closed to public)

        -2:00- The Semi-Finals

          (Stull Recital Hall)


         -8:00p -The Finals (Kulas Hall)

          Reception and  Awards ceremony to follow

James Stroud

All-Ohio Guitar Competition & Festival

Jeffery Goldenberg 1st prize (CIM), Brian King 2nd (Oberlin), Jacob Blizard 3rd (Oberlin) and Jeremy Avalos 4th (U Akron), with James Stroud. 

The James Stroud All Ohio Classical Guitar Competition and the Crown of the Continent Guitar Foundation (COCGF) are excited to announce a collaboration through which the winner of the 2016 All Ohio Competition will receive a full scholarship to attend the week-long Crown of the Continent Guitar Foundation (COCGF) workshop and festival, featuring The LA Guitar Quartet,  in Bigfork, Montana at the 4 star Flathead Lake Lodge.  This scholarship, valued at $10,000 includes tuition, transportation, all inclusive accommodations at the Flathead Lake Lodge and performance opportunities.  This unique workshop brings together individuals with a passion for the guitar from all genres to study and enjoy the best of the guitar in a magnificent, intimate setting. In addition to the LAGQ, this year’s Artists in Residence lineup includes jazz guitarist Lee Ritenour and his band;  Brazilian artist Romero Lubambo; rock masters Dweezil Zappa and his band, Jon Herrington and Shane Theriot;  blues guitarist David Grissom and singer-songwriters Madeleine Peyroux and Brett Dennen.   The faculty is comprised of nationally recognized guitar instructors in their respective genres and styles.  Members of the LAGQ who are returning from participating in the COCGF 2013 workshop comment that they are “really looking forward to interacting with students on an intimate level, not just in daily master classes, but in small-group workshops, ensembles and just hanging out.  So much can get accomplished this way in the short space of a week, and all amidst the extraordinary beauty of the mountainous, wide-open spaces of Montana.”

Scholarship video:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KL6bzpuAVY&feature=em-share_video_user

Website:  www.crownguitarfest.org

Highlights from 2014:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfDa5sS3JqI





Performance order for the 2018 Competition is now official:

​9:30        Arcangel Velazquez
9:38        Mohit Dubey
9:46         Matt Wood
9:54         Shawn McCune
10:04       Yeram Yoon
10:12        Jaimes Massey
10:20        Henry Spencer
10:28        Maryam Hajialigol
10:36        Nolan Juaire

10:44        Break for 10 minutes

10:54        Steven Pezzella
11:02        Angela Buzzacco
11:10         Jacob Bird
11:18         Brian King
11:26        Craig Slagh
11:34        Aiden Lippke
11:42        Julia Humphrey